I was reading a blog called The Simple Dollar and figured I’d check up on their Bad Spending Habits section. Maybe I’d be able to trim down my worthless expenses. In the process of looking at some key points I read this:

Reduce (temporarily) your giving at church/synagogue/etc. If your budget is bursting at the seams, consider cutting back on your giving at your religious service. If this spiritually troubles you, talk to the leader of your religious group about the issue – they’ll usually be very supportive of this if you need some time to get your own house in order.

It is obvious that this blogger isn’t a man of faith. I’m all for saving a few dollars but at what expense? They’ll usually be very supportive of you cutting back your giving? What Church do you go to? Malachi 3:10 in the Bible clearly states:

“Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house, and try Me now in this,” Says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven and pour out for you such a blessing that there will not be room enough to receive it.”

God is telling His people… try me. Do you lack any good thing? Bring all the tithes into my storehouses that there may be food in My house and I will pour out a blessing so large that it will surpass the limits of your bank account, stock portfolio, or certified deposits. Do you realize that God is asking us to test Him? Even if it means making sacrifices you step out on a limb. God will always, and I repeat, always meet you at your faith.

King David once wrote in Psalm 37 that he was once young and is now old and in all his life he has never seen the righteous forsaken. One of God’s names in the Hebrew language is Jehovah Jireh, the Lord my provider. It’s all God and mathematics, because sometimes things don’t add up and you feel like you’re in the negative until God introduces you to the wonderful world of multiplication.

