Note: Let’s just get this out of the way, I really hate it when companies use cliche mantras. In reality this isn’t an entry about competitive cell phone tactics at all. You have been warned, the disclaimer has been invoked!

I’ve always thought that there was an edge to self-fulfilling prophecies. After all, my hypochondriac Uncle has told himself that he’s been injured for so many years that he genuinely believes that 2 tons of lumber fell on his back in the 80’s when it was a single piece of plywood for heaven’s sake. He swears to this day that he is crippled for life… to me, my family, and the government.

I’d like to believe that all of us have an intrinsic optimism that can overcome any dilemma but this isn’t the case. I’ve seen the “I can’t get out of this… you just don’t understand” attitude far too many times. It ruins marriages, destroys businesses, severs relationships, and the list goes on.

Why can’t we all have the Derek Zoolander mentality? “I guess the first time I knew I would be successful is when I went through the second grade. I caught my reflection in a spoon while I was eating my cereal and I remember thinking, you could do this as a career.”

There will always be naysayers trying to push their negative mentality onto you and many times they are successful in doing so. Misery loves company rings true in all facets of life.

Will there never be hard times? I never said that.
You just don’t understand the situation. I don’t have to.
I could never overcome this problem. Nothing is impossible.

It is difficult and unorthodox to have this optimism throughout trials but hey, we all go through them, and they build character. Being a single full-time father who juggled a 40 hour work week along with college was a hurtle I never thought I’d have to jump, but I did it, and yes I am stronger. It reminds me of the scripture in James 1:2-4 of the Bible that says,

“Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.”

In Paul’s letter to the Romans he even goes on to say that endurance develops maturity of character and that character produces joyful and confident hope of eternal salvation.

I want to have joy during the hard times in my life knowing that my character is being developed. Afterall, God is more concerned with you personally than your businesses, goals, ambitions, and desires. He wants to make you into somebody. He wants to raise the bar.

