The last couple weeks God has put it in my heart to see that He is indeed the God of breakthrough. There’s times when we feel like all of our efforts and ambitions are in vain. The truth is… they are. When we get into this pattern of doing things ourselves we end up like water in a stagnant pond. We don’t go anywhere… we don’t gain any traction… we just sit there and are eventually taken over by our atmosphere. This isn’t how God intended it to be. Psalm 127:1 says,

“Unless the Lord builds the house, they labor in vain who build it.”

God is telling us, “How far did you get on your own? I told you that I would build your house. You’re building on the sand. When the storms come all the work that you thought you had accomplished will be washed away.” We look at Isaiah 66:1-2 and God says,

“Heaven is My throne, and earth is My footstool. Where is the house that you will build Me? And where is the place of My rest? For all those things My hand has made, and all those things exist,” Says the LORD. “But on this one will I look: On him who is poor and of a contrite spirit, and who trembles at My word.”

God has already built His house! He made the universe down to every intricate detail of your life. He’s saying… what can you build that I haven’t already built? I will look upon those who are humbled. Those who are poor and of a contrite spirit. Those who tremble at My holy word.

When you realize that you are not the builder, rather a co-laborer, you become like a stream flowing into a raging river where there is so much life so much growth so much more than what you could ever imagine. You’re no longer a cesspool of your own muck stagnant in all your ways. You’re tapped into something living, something so far beyond you. Who will build God’s house? He will. Thank God He counted me faithful enough to join the ride.

