Being in the time-shift continuum and all, the journey of looking for a new job gives me shutters. Alas, this is where I ended up. After leaving my lucrative internship at Centeris Corporation I tried a couple positions that didn’t match what I was looking for. Either I didn’t like them, or they didn’t like me. As I really thought about this concept God started speaking into my life showing me pertinent things that I had never realized before.

My thought always was that the employer was there to benefit you. My entire work life I had this thought pattern: What can this company do for me? What am I getting out of it? How can this company advance me? The entire time I was so concerned about myself it was stunting my personal development.

While working I came to the realization that it wasn’t even about me. It was about what I can do for the company. Forget about the advancement. You are serving them. You’re getting paid for it so you better step up to the plate. This was initally a challenge because I had trained myself for so long that the “norm” was to act as if your employer owes you something. I used to read this scripture in Colossians 3 that states:

“And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.”

When I finally received the revelations that It’s not about me getting “this or that” out of my job but rather being a servant to the Lord rather than to men, my entire perspective shifted. God then quickly gave me this scripture in Proverbs 12 that says:

“The hand of the diligent will rule, But the lazy man will be put to forced labor.”

Could it be that God is giving us a glimpse into eternity? This verse obviously parallels our life on Earth but isn’t there a possibility that it could go deeper than that? I wonder if God is trying to tell us something… maybe that if we are diligent in all that we do being a servant to the Lord rather than to men, we will rule in heaven with Him? Just a thought. Regardless, I’m not taking the chances… I don’t want to be put to forced labor.

