I am at a new place in my life where setting up boundaries is critical. When I really dig to the core issue of what boundaries are I think of a story that I heard about regarding elementary students in a schoolyard. Some teacher probably wanted to prove some hypothesis he was working on and got the principal to sign off on it and it goes like this:

The school faculty setup a fence around the perimeter of the school yard and let the children play for a week. The next week they removed the fence to test the conduct of the children. Surprisingly the majority of the students didn’t leave the perimeter although the fence was removed.

It’s a great story and all but I want to know how does this apply to me personally? Digging to the core of the matter we see that boundaries are symbolic of protection through all walks of life. As a business man or woman you need to setup boundaries for the types of practices and ethics that you will allow to run your company. As a Christian you need to establish boundaries to protect each area of your life.

Setting up boundaries isn’t easy. I remember as a child I used to see the boundaries as a way of holding me back. The higher the fence, the better the challenge! If there was barbed wire I would find a way to bypass the danger. When I grew up and matured I realized that boundaries were established to protect me from something or to protect something from me.

Setting up boundaries in relationships gives you freedom to live life within the constrains of the predetermined boundaries. I am newbie at respecting the boundaries and am applying these principles to every facet of life: the law, work ethics, raising my kids, and building relationships. Somehow I know that respecting the boundaries will teach me to be a better man. I’m looking forward to the journey.

