I am not the perfect model for character in the workplace. In fact I have had my share of shortcomings. From the ages 15-18 I had close to 12 jobs. Part of it was due to the fact that once I conquered the learning curve then the job became mundane. I’ve always liked a challenge. In the process of this I somehow lost my integrity, character, and work ethics.

My first son was born back in ’03 and I joined the Air Force. They drill into you the core values of the service which are: Integrity First, Service Before Self, and Excellence in All We Do. I can buy that. Still, something was lacking. I had no motivation whatsoever. I viewed work as a means to an end and nothing more. Perhaps it’s because I knew that it wasn’t my career, maybe not?

After gaining and leaving multiple jobs in the real world I realized that being a man of character is a decision that you have to make everyday. There’s no golden Web 2.0 app that will teach you to not procrasinate or a blog on how to get motivated that can substitute for a determination that you will be a man of character, virtue, and integrity.

I’ve made my decision and to be honest it is a continual effort. They say that forming a habit takes around a month but for the habit to truly become a part of your everyday life that it is a 6 month process. I see my generation sinking to the bottom of the barrel while the baby boomers are left nodding their heads. I read stories and users’ comments that blow my mind. I look at the state of our country and realize that we need a savior and His name is Jesus.

We need Him in our schools, in our workplace, and in our coffee shops. In the Bible it says that one day every knee shall bow and every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord. We live in a democracy and the thought of bowing to anybody is unorthodox and ludacris but I believe the words. There’s just something in the name of Jesus isn’t there? People scream out the name in vain. There are wars, disputes, miracles, and revolutions by that name. Some create their own version of Jesus and pawn it off on the rest of the world but I want the organic Jesus. The Jesus who loved and came to set the world free, because when you find the real Jesus… work, finances, your marriage, and everything in between seems to fall in place. There is power in His name.

